Critical Cobb EMC Elections Begin This Week

Notice to all customers/members of Cobb EMC: Mail-in and online voting begins soon in elections to determine whether CEMC moves toward transparency and sustainable energy or reverts to the bad old days under Dwight Brown.

Elections are scheduled this year for three (3) CEMC Board of Directors positions. (Elections for the 10-member Board are staggered.) The candidates will run from specific districts, but all CEMC members can vote for their choice for all three seats.

District Map

The annual meeting where members can vote in person takes place on September 15.

But members can vote by mail beginning the week of August 13, when ballots and candidate bios will be mailed out. Online voting is also available.

The best information about the elections is provided on Cobb EMC Forum is a member watchdog group independent of Cobb EMC. The Forum has vetted and is recommending a vote for the following challengers to two of the incumbents:

  • JB Driskell to replace incumbent Rudy Underwood, District 2.
  • Jack Hartman to replace incumbent Eric Broadwell, District 9.

Cobb EMC Forum is neutral between challenger Larry King or incumbent Kelly Bodner, District 3.

The Forum is holding two “meet and greet” meetings where CEMC members can learn more about the candidates and the issues involved.

Saturday, August 18, 2018              Wednesday, August 22, 2018
4:00 PM- 5:30 PM                                6:00 PM- 7:30 PM
Whole Foods (meeting room)        Stratton Library (meeting room)
1311 Johnson Ferry Rd.                   1100 Powder Springs Rd.
Marietta, GA 30068                            Marietta, GA 30064

This election is critical to Cobb EMC’s future. Board elections in 2012 swept out of office the 10 Directors whose incompetent and dysfunctional leadership had resulted in widespread malfeasance and led to the indictment of Chairman Dwight Brown on over 30 criminal charges. Brown’s appeals and challenges led eventually to the case’s dismissal, and he never faced trial.

Cobb EMC Forum and other critics believe the current Board has taken several steps backward. Transparency has been dealt a blow by measures to restrict and narrow members/owners’ ability to have their voices heard and to influence Board decisions. The Board has also acted to discourage members from implementing rooftop solar and fallen behind other co-ops in turning to 21st Century sustainable energy sources that benefit members’ pocketbooks and the environment.

The Board’s most egregious betrayal of transparency occurred this year when it selected a new Chairman without involving the members in any way.

We members cannot escape responsibility for the backsliding. Members can exercise their control over Electric Membership Corporations only by being active participants in their operations and voting in the annual elections. But only a very small percentage of members exercise their rights. Boards of Directors exploit this flaw to become a classic Old Boy network that feathers its own nests at the expense of members.

Don’t let Cobb EMC revert to the bad old days under Dwight Brown.


The Official CEMC Announcement

Dear Member:

The Cobb EMC Director Election is now underway. Your vote is important. Please note that 5 p.m. (EDT) September 12, 2018 is the deadline for submitting your online vote and for receipt of paper ballots. If you will use a paper ballot, you should mail it in time to be received by September 12. Instructions for on-line voting are below. You may also vote in person at the Annual Meeting on September 15, 2018 from 8 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. Please note that once a vote is cast by paper ballot or on-line voting, it cannot be changed at the Annual meeting.

You will need the (PIN number sent to members’ email address by CEMC) and your Account Number to log on to the secure voting site for online voting.

Log on to vote at:

If you require assistance, please call Election Services Co (ESC) toll-free (866) 720-4357 during business hours Monday thru Friday 9 a.m. – 5 p.m. (ET) or send an e-mail to:

Thank you for submitting your vote!

Leave a Reply